Swaging Primer Pockets?

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Woody

Swaging Primer Pockets?

Post by Woody »

Primer Pockets. To swage, or not to swage, that is the question. Swaging large rifle to large pistol. I know it's basically a one way prop. How is done? Suppliers of dies etc? Benifits? Down side? Who done it?

Woody
Richard A. Wood
If you are surrounded. You are in a target rich environment.
Brent

Post by Brent »

Hoke makes the tools. I've done it. I can't say it has much mattered with anything I've tried so far when tested CAREFULLY.

Brent
Just straddling the hard line between "the arrogance of dogmatism and the despair of skepticism"
Woody

Post by Woody »

Brent,

Thanks. I'm wondering if it would benifit since I've been using Large Pistol primers for several years. Maybe more uniform ignition?

Woody
Richard A. Wood
Brent

Post by Brent »

Well, I'm still shooting BR2s and I don't see anything that gives me any provable advantage over that. However, I have only done the pistol primer stuff with breech seated .38-55s. Maybe the larger cartridges would benefit.

Brent
Just straddling the hard line between "the arrogance of dogmatism and the despair of skepticism"
Kenny Wasserburger

Post by Kenny Wasserburger »

Woody,

I am wondering about it myself as the pistol primers work so well in our 38-50's Jimbo's and Mine.

I know Tony Nielson played with it a few years ago here and had some good results, But I think he ended up with Flash-hole Issues in the mix. He is one of them Engineer Types and a very good shot.

I hope someone thats tested this chimes in Maybe Tony?

KW
We'll raise up our Glasses against Evil Forces, Singing, Whiskey for my men, Beer for my horses.

Wyoming Territory Sharps Shooter
Woody

Post by Woody »

Brent,