First time reloading 45-110 could use some advice

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

ShawnAgne

First time reloading 45-110 could use some advice

Post by ShawnAgne »

I've been shooting 45-70 and 50-70 in trapdoors for a couple of years and decided to get a Quigley Style Sharps in 45-110. Question I have is what powder do you recomend. I've seen Goex Fg mentioned along with FFg. Also should I enlarge the primer holes as Spencer Wolf suggests in his 45-70 book for the 45-110 also? If there are any other tips you can give it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
BuckeyeShooter

Post by BuckeyeShooter »

I think the general concensous between us 110 shooters on here is that Goex 1F is the way to go. Just remember that it performs the best when you compress the heck out of it (at least .300) or there abouts. I personally don't enlarge any of my primer pockets. Can't really think of anything else that's really different than you would load the 45-70 other than you better lay in a good supply of powder because you use it up fast in this cartridge.
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety" -Benjamin Franklin-
ShawnAgne

Thanks, question on BP or Pyrodex and Bullet sizing

Post by ShawnAgne »

The powder I've been using in my Trapdoors has been Pyrodex RS which is the FFg equivalent. With the 45-110 am I better off using the straight Fg BP, or does the Pyrodex Fg equivalent work also?

The bullet I'm going to be using is the Lyman 500gr #457125 mould what should I size it? With the Trapdoors I don't worry about this since the bores are generally oversized.
Ray Newman

Post by Ray Newman »

Agreed on the Fg powder.

The rdnck & Kenny Wasserbuger are two very experienced, if not the most experienced & knowledgeable .45-2 7/8” Shooters on this board.